Amazon Reviews Are Monitored! Is that Good or Bad?

So reviews started coming in for my book and they were fascinating. The positive reviewers were “Verified Purchasers,” meaning Amazon determined the writers had bought the book. Not one of the negative reviewers had purchased the book. It was clear they were disgruntled family members or their friends. I totally understand their anger. This book tells all, albeit from my point of view, but these folks did things they really wouldn’t want the world to know and now, as they see it, the world does know, thanks to me.

Their reviews and comments on other reviews, while at first upsetting, became amusing to me at some level. Plus, I think they sold books as the days when these reviews showed up were my highest sellers. Here’s just a taste of how these went.

Christ 1 star
Hitler 5 stars

And…this one from my brother-in-law who writes under the screen name MISC (yes, he chose miscellaneous but I think he meant anonymous.)

“BTW “readers”, Debby’s book of lies is entitled “when aging parents die”, however Debby and Ned Carroll have behaved badly for 30 years prior to the death of the parents Debby eludes to. I am privy to inside info (the info that Debby and Ned Carroll don’t want revealed about themselves), and I can assure you that the death or aging of parents had nothing to do with who they are or what they did…to be continued.”

Seriously, I couldn’t make this stuff up. I’m not that good a writer! But his comment saying he’s going to reveal “Inside info” got me interested. I was eagerly awaiting the “info.” I’ve lived a pretty boring life. If he’s got something juicy about me, I’d love to know what it is!

But on Amazon people can indicate whether reviews and or comments constitute abuse. If Amazon deems them abusive, they’ll remove said material. So they did. Now my reviews are rife with this message “Amazon deleted this comment 3 hours ago.”

I don’t know if our family members will continue to post commentary now that Amazon deleted their previous work. I kind of hope so, though. I’m anxious to see what they’ve got planned.

So is my family as crazy as I think they are or has anyone else seen this kind of material on reviews? I must say, their personal attacks are not like anything I’ve ever seen on a book review. But they are pretty funny and may lead to a necessary sequel to my story.

5 thoughts on “Amazon Reviews Are Monitored! Is that Good or Bad?

  1. “But they are pretty funny and may lead to a necessary sequel to my story” I had to laugh when I read that. I love your positive attitude about the whole thing. Best way to live and enjoy life. -Jen (the other half of Joewriteshiswrongs)

    Like

  2. Hi Jen. Nice to virtually meet you. Joe says very nice things. 🙂 You are right about the positive attitude as a survival tool. When dealing with some of my extended family, I’d never have made it without the ability to laugh. Seems Joe (and you must as well) has that too and it serves him well now and I sincerely hope, well into the future. Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to comment.

    Like

    1. You guessed it. Used to it and then some! I’m guessing a woman who of her own volition has chosen “bitch” to be part of her name does occasionally run into difficult relatives. So, yes, learn from me and develop the ability to laugh. I recommend humor at all times. Also wine is often a good choice when humor is inappropriate. I understand the family’s extreme reactions to my book. They did exhibit some pretty despicable behavior and probably didn’t in a million years imagine I’d feel the need to broadcast it to the world. Alas for them, they underestimated the writer’s compulsion to… write. Thanks for reading and for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Love to hear your thoughts! Comment here...

